#10for10 Game #9: Monday Night Snowbowl (Packers vs. Seahawks, 2006 Season)

1 Sep

*To commemorate my 10th season as a Seahawks season ticket holder, I am telling the stories of the top 10 home games I have attended in the past 10 years*

When I was in high school I loved it when the Seahawks played Monday and Thursday night home games. It gave me the opportunity to dress up in all my Seahawks gear and attend all my classes as “that guy;” the guy you just knew was going to the game that night. The day was Monday, November 27th. The Seahawks were hosting their second Monday Night Football game in 4 weeks and we were facing off against Brett Favre and the Green Bay Packers. As soon as 7:30am when I got to school I could tell it was going to be a special and memorable day. I was taking my friend Modris to the game and it was going to be his first ever NFL game in-person so I was very excited. After four 90-minute block periods of AP Language (the hardest class I ever took in high school), Band, Culinary, and U.S. History, Modris and I headed straight from school to the park and ride to catch the bus downtown.

It was very cold throughout the day. When I woke up and turned on SportsCenter they were doing a live report from Seattle and they said the game time temperature would be in the 30’s with a “chance” of snow flurries. Looking back I was probably underdressed a little but my classic look of sweatshirt-under-jersey with a knit hat kept me plenty warm. As the teams came onto the field for pregame warmups you could see a light dusting of snow falling from the sky and blanketing the field ever so slightly.

Photo Credit: Jonathan Ferrey, Getty Images

Photo Credit: Jonathan Ferrey, Getty Images

The snow continued to fall as the teams headed inside their locker rooms and as we got ready for pregame ceremonies something pretty amazing happened. The National Anthem was sung and the snow really started to pick up. During the anthem a 20-yard wide American flag was held at midfield. The rendition took about two minutes and afterwards the flag was removed, revealing a very noticeable green rectangle of space where the field was untouched by snowfall. The snow continued to fall for the majority of the first half. During television timeouts, the field staff pushed shovels across the field at every 5-yard line marker so we could make out where the yard lines and endzones were. It was a scene made ironically enough for Green Bay and it was only fitting that the Seahawks first ever home game played in the snow was against the Packers.

Photo Credit: nwsportsbeat.com

Photo Credit: nwsportsbeat.com

The game itself got off to a slow start, as the Packers took a 14-12 lead into the locker room at halftime. The Seahawks however were able to capitalize on Brett Favre’s two second half interceptions. Add in 40 rushes for 201 yards by Seahawks running back Shaun Alexander and two touchdown passes from quarterback Matt Hasselbeck and the Seahawks were able to dominate the later stages of the game, ultimately pulling away for a 34-24 victory. The win gave the Seahawks a 7-4 record and we maintained control of the NFC West.

Photo Credit: mynorthwest.com

Photo Credit: mynorthwest.com

After the game it took Modris and I almost two hours to catch a bus back home. My parents picked us up and drove us home which was a challenge itself. More than 3 hours had passed since the end of the game and I was finally home safe and sound. It had snowed about 4 inches back in Bellevue and it was enough to cancel school for the next two days. This game occurred in my first season as a season ticket holder but it continues to stick in my mind as one of the more unique games I have been to over the years.

FINAL: Seahawks 34, Packers 24

Leave a Reply

