Seahawks/Redskins Preview

2 Oct
Photo Credit: seahawks.com

Photo Credit: seahawks.com

Matchup: Seattle Seahawks at Washington Redskins

Site: FedExField (Landover, Maryland)

Kickoff: 5:30pm

After a two week break the Seahawks are back for the extended stretch run of the season, consisting of 13 straight games. The Seahawks conclude the first quarter of their season on Monday Night Football as they head across the country to face the Washington Redskins. The Seahawks are 2-1 and are coming off a nail-biting 26-20 overtime win over the Denver Broncos on September 21st. The Redskins, who will be playing this game on 11 days rest, are 1-3 and are coming off an ugly 45-14 loss at home to the New York Giants last week. Washington leads the all-time series with the Seahawks 11-7. Their last meeting came in the 2012 playoffs with the Seahawks defeating a banged up Robert Griffin III led Redskins team 24-14. With Griffin hurt and out for the foreseeable future this time around, the Seahawks and specifically the Legion of Boom will face Washington quarterback Kirk Cousins for the very first time as a starter. Here is what I will be looking for from section 125 at FedExField on Monday night.

This week I want to see two things out of the Seahawks offense. First, I want to see as close to an evenly balanced attack as possible which in turn hopefully leads to being able to control time of possession. The Seahawks may be a top-5 rushing offense but Marshawn Lynch’s 36 rushing yards in our last road game will not cut it this week. It may be a challenge on the ground this week as the Redskins have allowed an average of only 87 rushing yards per game, 7th best in the NFL. If we can get Lynch going early and control the tempo of the game we will be much better off. We were unable to do all of that against San Diego and Russell Wilson was ultimately unable to carry the team on his shoulders. My target production for Beast Mode in this game is 90-95 yards. If Lynch can achieve this number with Robert Turbin helping out as well, the offense will be in good hands. Given the production of Ricardo Lockette thus far in the season, it would not surprise me to see the inexperienced Redskins secondary overlook the starters. With Percy Harvin as a threat all over the field, Russell Wilson may look to Doug Baldwin to carry more of the load this week. Do not be surprised if Baldwin leads all Seahawks receivers in targets. Secondly, I want to see a turnover-free performance. The Seahawks have only turned the ball over three times this season, one coming in each game. They have done a very good job of protecting the football and if the Seahawks turn it over multiple times the Redskins have the potential to turn those turnovers into points. I think the Seahawks can afford to turn the ball over once and be fine but this week I am calling for a turnover-free performance in all phases of the game. Like head coach Pete Carroll preaches “it’s all about the ball” and if the Seahawks put up a 0 in the turnover category this week, we will almost certainly win this game.

The defensive game plan should be fairly simple this week; Put pressure on Kirk Cousins and force him to make bad decisions in the passing game. The Legion of Boom must have been licking their chops watching Cousins throw 4 interceptions against an average Giants defense last week. There is no reason to believe that cannot happen again if the Seahawks front seven does an adequate job of penetrating the Redskins offensive line to get to Cousins. While Cliff Avril and Michael Bennett will have their hands full with Redskins tackles Trent Williams and Tyler Polumbus, it is Williams, Polumbus, and the rest of the Washington offensive line that will need to create holes for running back Alfred Morris. Morris has averaged 4.4 yards per carry so far this year, however the 63 yards he gained last week is a season low. The Redskins would be wise to watch film of the Seahawks loss in San Diego. An effective running attack will tire the Seahawks defense and if Washington faces third and short situations Morris is a dangerous threat to move the chains. If the Seahawks can stop Morris at the line of scrimmage, force Cousins to throw, and force turnovers the Redskins offense will be no match on this Monday night.

The Washington Redskins defense boasts some of the better talent in the NFL but right now the Redskins are paper thin at the cornerback position. After starting cornerback DeAngelo Hall tore his Achilles earlier in the year, members of the Washington secondary are filling in at positions they do not normally play. My X-Factor player to watch on the Washington defense this week is David Amerson, one of the Redskins two starting cornerbacks. Last week Amerson recorded 8 tackles and after watching film I believe the reason why he had so many tackles was because the Giants threw in his direction more than any other member of the Washington secondary. On the passing plays where Amerson made the tackle, the Redskins gave up an average of 10.3 yards per play. The Seahawks could be very effective in the short and intermediate passing game this week and if Amerson’s play does not improve the Seahawks could dink and dunk down the field all night long.

Random Thoughts: I have it on good authority from a source within the locker room that the Seahawks will wear white jerseys this week. To my knowledge I do not know which color pants the Seahawks will wear. The Redskins will likely wear gold pants with their maroon home jerseys… Mike Tirico and Jon Gruden have the call for ESPN this week with Lisa Salters covering the sidelines. In addition to ESPN, the game will also be broadcast locally on KONG (Channel 6) for those without cable, and WatchESPN.com for those without a television… Jeff Triplette is the referee this week. The last Seahawk game Triplette officiated was week 17 last season against St. Louis… I am sitting in the lower bowl of FedExField so hopefully my face will make it on some sort of media platform. I would love to get on ESPN if they show visiting fans in the stadium… This will be the latest game I have ever attended. Kickoff in D.C. is slated for 8:30pm. The latest start time for a Seahawks game I have been to was the Super Bowl last season which started at 6:30pm local time… In addition to the game I am really interested to take in the sights that Washington D.C. has to offer. I have 3 full days to sightsee before the game on Monday and I know 3 days will not be enough time to see everything. It will be a hectic few days but I cannot wait… I have no idea how ruthless Redskins fans are or can be. As a fan of the defending Super Bowl champions I will probably be walking around with a proud pep in my step so we’ll see how I am welcomed… This will be the 11th Seahawks game I attend on the road. My personal win-loss record seeing the Seahawks on the road is 3-7 but I went 2-1 last season including Super Bowl XLVIII… One last thought. I feel like I should address this because we are playing the Washington Redskins this week. There is an ongoing debate about whether or not the term “Redskins” is a racial slur and if the team name should be changed. Here are my brief thoughts on this topic. I really don’t have an opinion on if “Redskins” is a racial slur and I don’t really care whether or not they eventually decide to change the team’s name. Here is what I know. As a blogger I try to write and report as accurately as possible including using the correct terminology of whatever I am writing about. I have chosen to include the team’s name throughout this preview because whether I like the name or not the fact of the matter is “Redskins” is the team name of the franchise. As far as I am concerned my opinion of this issue is irrelevant. Plain and simple, they are the Washington Redskins and as someone who is going to write accurately, I will continue to address the team as such.

Prediction: This game could start one of two ways. I think the Seahawks could put together a fast scoring drive to start the game or it may take a few series to effectively move the ball and put points on the board. Russell Wilson will throw for 225 yards and a touchdown but it will be Marshawn Lynch that leads our offense. Lynch will run for over 100 yards and add a touchdown of his own. On the defensive side of the ball Richard Sherman will record his first interception of the season sometime in the second half. Kirk Cousins will play a better game than last week but his effort will not be enough. The Seahawks will go to 3-1 on the season and I will be flying home on Tuesday night a happy man.

Seahawks 24, Redskins 13

Next week will be a busy week on the blog. Look for my Redskins review hopefully late Tuesday night or early Wednesday morning once I get home. Also I will chronicle my entire trip to Washington D.C. in a detailed post which I hope to have published late next week.

Thanks for reading peeps! Go Hawks!

Leave a Reply

