Review: Seahawks 28, Jets 7

12 Nov

Image

At the beginning of the season, I took a look at our schedule and I predicted we would be 5-5 going into the bye week. Instead, thanks to the Seahawks win on Sunday over the New York Jets, the Seahawks head into the bye with a 6-4 record. With the exception of one mistake by quarterback Russell Wilson, the Seahawks played a nearly perfect game and dominated the Jets. Here is what I saw out of the Seahawks this week.

Lynch Breaks 1,000: The Jets came into Sunday’s game with one of the worst run defenses in the league. With Marshawn Lynch only needing 119 yards to get to 1,000 total on the season, it seemed reasonable that Lynch could get there this week. Lynch finished the game with 124 rushing yards and a touchdown, putting him at 1,005 yards on the season. Lynch’s 4.6 yards per carry was a good average to have this week. The Jets had a focus on stopping Lynch after contact because a great majority of his rushing yards have come after contact. There were not many big plays from Lynch this week but his 27 carries are a solid number to have to evenly spread the total play distribution. I think the bye comes at a great time for Lynch to relax and rest up so he can be fresh heading into the last six games of the season.

Wilson Makes History: Russell Wilson had another solid game this week, going 12/19 for 188 yards and 2 touchdowns. His only mistake of the game was fumbling the ball in the first quarter which was recovered and returned by Jets defensive end Muhammad Wilkerson for a touchdown. Other than this one play, Wilson played another great game and he made NFL history in the process. Wilson is the first rookie quarterback since the 1970 NFL-AFL merger to win his first 5 home games. “There’s no place like home” Wilson stated before he started his postgame press conference and he is right. With Arizona, San Francisco, and St. Louis the only home games left this season, I would not be surprised if Wilson leads the Seahawks to an 8-0 record at home.

Trick-Or-Treat: The Seahawks opened up the playbook a little bit this week and ran two trick plays. The first was a halfback toss flea flicker. Wilson pitched the ball to Robert Turbin, who then tossed the ball back to Wilson. Wilson then threw a deep ball intended for Sidney Rice which was a little bit underthrown. Rice unfortunately could not make the play. The Seahawks were able to make up for it later on the drive, as Marshawn Lynch scored from one yard out 8 plays later. The second trick play was a beauty. 1st and goal from the Jets 23 yard line; Wilson faked a handoff to Lynch, and then pitched the ball to Golden Tate. Tate then ran to the left and tossed an incredibly slippery football which was caught in the endzone by Sidney Rice for a touchdown. The Seahawks have ran trick plays at all the right times this season it has seemed. I like throwing new wrinkles into the game plan and the coach Carroll and coach Bevell have done a great job deciding when to run these plays. I hope we keep the trick plays and run more of them but I hope we do not abuse the package. Having one or two trick plays per game would be incredibly effective moving forward in my opinion.

We Read Sanchez Like A Book: Like I predicted, Jets quarterback Mark Sanchez has a terrible game. Sanchez finished the game 9/22 for 124 yards and one interception. He made a lot of ill-advised throws and his biggest mistake was a triple-clutched pass that was picked off at the goal line by Richard Sherman in the second quarter. Like I predicted in my preview, if we could cover New York’s receivers well and put pressure on Sanchez, he would make unfortunate decisions. This is exactly what happened. Sanchez and the Jets as a whole played a terrible game on offense and they did not score an offensive touchdown. Shonn Greene only ran for 58 yards and Tim Tebow went 3/3 passing for 8 yards and also had 14 yards rushing on 4 carries. The Jets are going to have a difficult time the rest of the season if they perform on offense the way they did against the Seahawks. At the beginning of the season I thought the Jets would only win 5 games. They have won 3 with 7 games remaining on their schedule. I do not think the Jets are serious playoff contenders like head coach Rex Ryan says they are, and after the season they may have to reconsider Mark Sanchez’s place on their team.

Random Thoughts: I went to the Hawks Nest before the game with my dad to drink and watch football. This was the first time all season I prefunked there. Their buffalo wings were the meatiest wings I’ve had in a long time and they were delicious… I got to rock my season ticket holder knit hat this week. It did its purpose keeping my head warm… The military card stunt during the national anthem was really cool. I think there were more people in the stands at the time of the national anthem this year then there were last year… Ed Hochuli was our referee this week and he did a great job explaining all the calls like he always does… It was actually pretty cold up in the upper deck this week, although I was sporting a beer blanket through the entire game… I didn’t see one person wearing a Tim Tebow Jets jersey. I saw someone wearing a Tebow Florida Gators jersey though in my section… We had another Skittles shower after Beast Mode’s touchdown. It never gets old… The starting defense was introduced this week but only 10 players were introduced by my count. K.J. Wright’s spot which was filled this week by Mike Morgan was not announced. Therefore, only two linebackers were introduced… After the game, I had dinner with my dad at Red Robin on the waterfront. I got the whiskey river barbeque burger. It was delicious… During dinner we were tracking the Rams/49ers game which ended in a 24-24 tie. Too funny and I’ll take that over a San Francisco victory, but the Rams had ample opportunities to win. If they had, we would only be ½ game behind San Francisco for the NFC West lead. Instead, I have no idea what the standings look like now.

The Seahawks bye week is this upcoming week. I have not decided whether or not to do a post next weekend because I have two huge papers to write for my classes. If so look for it most likely Saturday. If not, look for my preview of our week 12 game against the Miami Dolphins a week from Saturday. Thanks everyone. Go Seahawks!

Leave a Reply

