Review: Cardinals 20, Seahawks 16

11 Sep

Words cannot describe how upset I was after the Seahawks blew a great opportunity to get off to a 1-0 start. Instead, thanks to terrible play calling by offensive coordinator Darrell Bevell and the butter fingers of both Doug Baldwin and Braylon Edwards, the Seahawks fell to the Arizona Cardinals in the season opener 20-16. What makes this painful for me is the fact that I made the efforts to be there in person and to lose the game in heartbreaking fashion made me feel sick leaving the stadium and walking back to the hotel. I’ll jump right into what I saw from the Seahawks on Sunday; some good, some really bad.

Offensive Line Woes: From my seats, our offensive line looked absolutely terrible on Sunday. I can recall two specific plays where a Cardinals outside linebacker blitzed and went untouched in sacking and pressuring Russell Wilson. Marshawn Lynch still managed 80 yards rushing but the pressure on Wilson thanks to the offensive line is what ultimately cost us opportunities to win. This week, John Moffitt will be back at right guard and I am hoping Russell Okung will be ready to play after bruising a bone in his left knee against Arizona. With a stout pass rush coming to town in Dallas this week, the offensive line has to be a point of emphasis in practice this week.

Don’t Call For Flynn Just Yet: Although Russell Wilson made some mistakes and bad decisions, Wilson led the Seahawks down the field and gave us a chance to win the game. He put together a potential game-winning drive, going 76 yards in the final 4:59. If it wasn’t for dropped passes in the endzone by Doug Baldwin and Braylon Edwards, the Seahawks would have won and Wilson may possibly be talked about around this city as a hero this week. We may have lost but Wilson was not to blame. I just have one question for everyone now calling for Matt Flynn to start. How do you know Flynn would have done any better in Arizona on the last drive of the game?

Was That Darrell Bevell or Greg Knapp?: Let me talk about the last three plays of the game. 2nd and goal from the 4. Wilson drops back and throws a fade to the right back corner of the endzone which is incomplete intended for Sidney Rice. 3rd and goal from the 4. Wilson drops back and throws the exact same throw to the exact same spot; this time intended for Charly Martin. On 4th and goal from the 4, Wilson throws a 3-step slant to Braylon Edwards which bounces off his hands incomplete. The Seahawks turn the ball over on downs and Arizona runs out the clock to win the game. If I was calling the plays that would have been a run to Lynch on 2nd down. If he got stopped short I would have called either a quick snap quarterback sneak or spiked the ball on 3rd down. On 4th down depending on the spot, I would have run it up the middle again with Lynch, or would have thrown the exact same ball Wilson did. Throwing fades with the game on the line is one of the worst plays to call in my opinion. What made this especially frustrating was that both fades routes where thrown in a zone that was defended by both Patrick Peterson and Adrian Wilson, two pro bowl caliber players. The play calling in game-on-the-line situations like this needs to smarten up in the future.

I Was Expecting More From The Defense: With the Cardinals boasting one of the worst offensive lines in the NFL, I was expecting our defense to make a big impact. Instead Chris Clemons was the only Seahawk to record a sack and only one player, K.J. Wright, had more than 5 tackles. I hate to admit it, but the Cardinals offensive line did a really good job in containing our defense. John Skelton and Kevin Kolb also did a good job picking the defense apart for short gains which resulted in lengthy scoring drives. With our home opener on the horizon, I expect the defense to step it up and bring the heat against Dallas.

A Brief Opinion of Cardinals Fans: I did not have a problem with any Arizona Cardinals fans sitting around me. Going into my trip, I knew that the Cardinals have a fairly “bandwagonish” fan base and I saw signs of that this weekend. There were a lot of empty seats at University of Phoenix Stadium. Most of the fans were fairly knowledgeable and knew when it was appropriate to cheer and boo. I enjoyed my trip; however of course it would have been better is the Seahawks had won.

Most of my “random thoughts” section this week is about the details of my trip to Arizona. Since there is so much to cover about my trip, I will be publishing a separate post tomorrow all about my weekend in Arizona. For anyone who has never seen the Seahawks play on the road or for anyone who has never been to Arizona, I highly recommend reading that post tomorrow. Thanks for reading everybody! See you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

