Titans/Seahawks Review

12 Aug

Let me start off by praising myself. In my preview post yesterday, I predicted that the Seahawks would defeat the Titans by a score of 27-17. The Seahawks did just that in a game where the quarterbacks play was solid and the defense’s play was jaw dropping. It was great to be back at CenturyLink Field and the environment came close to the intensity of a regular season game; something that hasn’t been done since our first preseason game after our super bowl season. Let me get to my thoughts on the game play.

Matt Flynn started the game at quarterback for the Seahawks and he looked pretty good. He completed 11 of 13 passes for 71 yards. His decision making was really sharp but he made very safe choices on most of his throws. Flynn did not throw a pass down the field. The majority of his completions were screens or check downs and he hit his receivers in the hands on most of his throws. I went into the game curious about Flynn’s handle on the playbook and to my eyes I only saw one communication error. With 12:40 left in the first half, Flynn ran a play action pass and faked the handoff on the opposite side Robert Turbin was running. Flynn then threw an interception to Titans linebacker Colin McCarthy with no Seahawks receiver in the vicinity. Other than this, everything seemed to go as it was planned. I think Flynn showed the coaching staff and the 12th Man that he deserves to be our starting quarterback.

Russell Wilson also was very impressive. Wilson ran several play action roll outs but his accuracy was somewhat inconsistent. The two biggest plays of Wilson’s night were a 39-yard touchdown pass to Braylon Edwards and a naked bootleg run for a 32-yard touchdown. Wilson is very fast and is a weapon the Seahawks could use in any skill capacity on the field. Wilson did make a mistake here and there, which is expected for a rookie who is getting his first taste of NFL game action. One play Wilson would like to have back was an interception in the endzone by Tennessee’s Zac Diles. The throw looked kind of funny from my point of view almost as if Wilson knew he made a mistake immediately after he released the ball.

Overall I think the quarterback play last night was good enough to kick Tarvaris Jackson out of a job. I hope to see Flynn take more chances down field next weekend in Denver, and I hope Josh Portis also gets some playing time late in next weekend’s game.

I have been talking with friends over the past few days about how good our defense will be this year. I am convinced we will have a top-10 defense while the rest of my friends believe we have the talent and playmaking ability to be a top-5 defense. After shutting out the Titans with our starters on the field for the first quarter, I am more inclined to believe we will have one of the best defenses in the league. Our starting run defense looked superior, holding Chris Johnson to 8 yards on 5 carries. We also looked incredibly fast on the line. Jason Jones looked the best of all our starting defensive lineman. He was successful in penetrating the Titans offensive line and Jones played the biggest role in my opinion in holding Johnson to only 8 yards. I was hoping to see Bruce Irvin make more of an impression. Irvin was fast but the Titans did a good job of keeping him at bay. Our secondary looked incredible. Brandon Browner and Richard Sherman both had interceptions and Earl Thomas assisted on Browner’s interception. All our cornerbacks and safeties are ball hawks who know how to read offenses and make incredible plays. Our secondary has the makings to challenge to be the best unit in the NFL.

Overall the Seahawks ended the game in great health. The only injury of note last night was tight end Zach Miller who suffered a concussion. Miller will go through the NFL concussion protocol before he is cleared to return to practice. I believe Kellen Winslow will get more reps in practice this week with Miller recovering.

Matt Hasselbeck got a great ovation from the fans before he took his first snap. I did hear a few boos scattered but overall it was a really nice gesture from the 12th Man. Hasselbeck then threw an interception. My former boss texted me about the Hasselbeck pick-six right after it happened and I simply replied “typical.”

There were a good number of people who were wearing Jake Locker jerseys last night. I saw more Washington Husky Locker jerseys than Titans Locker jersey’s though. Locker’s ovation did not come close to the ovation Hasselbeck got but it was still nice. I clapped for both but then it was all business. I screamed and booed when need be, simply because Hasselbeck and Locker do not play for the Seahawks.

Other Notes: The weather was beautiful last night. Kickoff temperature was in the 70’s and there was not a cloud in the sky. Being in the upper deck, it was very muggy and uncomfortable in the first half… I got Cameron Morrah’s autograph before the game down at the tunnel. Almost got Terrell Owens also but he did not walk down the line enough. He stopped three people short of me… The Hawks Nest Bar continues to be my favorite prefunking spot around the stadium. You can’t beat a Widmer hefeweizen on a hot summer day and you most certainly cannot beat the Hawks Nest specialty, the “hawk bomb”… I bought my alternate gray 12th Man jersey last night. I was surprised they had them available for purchase, as I had previously heard through Twitter that it would take more time to get them to the team store… The pregame fireworks were still awesome, although Leon Washington jumped the gun by running out of the tunnel well before the rest of his teammates… The National Anthem was sung beautifully by American Idol contestant Madison Shanley, however I have yet to encounter a better live anthem performance then Carrie Underwood’s before the 2005 NFC Championship game… Matt Hasselbeck called the coin flip and won. I joked he should have delivered his famous coin flip line. You know, the one no Seahawks fan truly wants to talk about… The new uniforms looked very sharp but it was difficult to read the players numbers at first. When I get my glasses maybe that will change… One of the two guys who sit in front of me renewed their tickets. I enjoy leaning forward to talk football with those guys. The guys who sat to my left last season moved down two rows. I’m glad they’re still close to me but it was annoying having them ask me football questions throughout the games last season. There are two new ticket holders about five rows down. They are incredibly annoying, as they continued to do their worst Sea Gals impressions. I feel bad for everyone in my section including myself who have to endure their annoying antics this season. I feel even worse for the ticket holders who are stuck right next to them. On the other side of the aisle, a family of three moved down about seven or eight rows. The mom knits throughout the games and the son, who is young, was blowing a duck whistle throughout the second half. Talk about ridiculous… It blows my mind how many of my friends get in contact with me before, during, and after Seahawks games. Whether it is to get my opinion of the game, or to meet up before the game or at the stadium, or to pick my brain about the team or the game, it always puts a smile on my face.

The team has an off day today and will be back at the VMAC tomorrow. Training camp practice resumes on Tuesday morning, as the team gets prepared for the game against Denver next weekend.

Leave a Reply

