Training Camp Day 3

30 Jul

Today I was unable to attend practice, but I was able to catch about half of practice via seahawks.com and the NFL Network. Here are my brief notes of what I saw during today’s practice.

The team was in shoulder pads and shorts once again. My hope is that tomorrow the team will be sporting full pads for the first time.

My daily quarterback update: Russell Wilson got the first-team reps in practice today. Of the drills I saw he looked pretty good but not as good as yesterday. Matt Flynn looked like the best quarterback during today’s drills. Something that has been a common criticism of Flynn is he does not have a rocket arm. He can put the ball where it needs to be but there is not much zip or power on the release or travel. With the other quarterbacks having stronger arms than Flynn, I as a fan will have to get used to Flynn and his finesse quarterback techniques.

There was a focus on the linebackers today at practice. Something I noticed that was interesting was the difference of strength between the locked-in starters and the players who are working their tails off trying to make the 53-man roster. Linebackers such as Leroy Hill and K.J. Wright had lots of pop on the bags and machines but other players such as Kyle Knox and Mike Morgan seemed to struggle. One linebacker who caught my eye was rookie Korey Toomer. To me, he improved on each rep he got on each different drill.

Tomorrow I will be back at the VMAC for practice. My goals will be to get some quotes from a few players while also hopefully watching full 11-on-11 drills in full pads for the first time. See you guys tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

