Season 37, Day 1

28 Jul

Football is back! The Seahawks opened training camp this morning in front of me and 2,000+ other fans. Here are a few notes from my perspective of practice number one.

Weather: Overcast and in the high 50’s

As a whole, I was prepared to see a relatively sloppy practice. Although it was not as sloppy as I anticipated, there were definitely some ups and some downs throughout the course of the two hour practice.

The quarterbacks split reps evenly today. Each quarterback would take 5 snaps with the first team before rotating. In my opinion, Matt Flynn looked the best and his chemistry was especially clicking with Doug Baldwin.

Sidney Rice was activated from the Physically Unable to Perform list shortly before practice, allowing him to fully participate in practice. Rice wore a red jersey, which prevents him from taking hits from his fellow teammates.

Ricardo Lockette was very impressive today. In particular, his quick feet and tight routes caught my eye from the birm. 

Brandon Mebane had a really good day from my view. He along with the rest of the starting defensive line looked very sharp.

I was unable to stay through the end of practice and autograph session, thus I was unable to get any quotes from players. I was informed that the majority of players who stuck around after practice were defensive players. It would be safe to assume that more offensive players will stick around after practice tomorrow. I will be in attendance again tomorrow and I will attempt to get questions answered and quotes from several players. 

All in all today was a solid first day. Football is back everybody. Time to get excited! I’ll be back tomorrow night with my notes from day 2 of Seahawks training camp.

Leave a Reply

