12 Years Ago

26 Mar

I remember the morning of March 26th, 2000 like it was yesterday. On this day, 10 years of childhood memories came crashing to the ground in a form of concrete and dust. For those of you who don’t remember this day or what I am talking  about, here’s a big hint…

I attended a large handful of Mariners games in the Kingdome from 1996-1999. As much as it pains me to admit, I only attended one Seahawks game in the Kingdome; a 41-7 preseason victory over the Arizona Cardinals on August 28th, 1999. Despite this being my only Seahawks experience in the Kingdome I have great memories of this night. As a kid I was terrified of sitting in the Kingdome’s 300 level. As a 9-year-old kid I had a slight fear of heights but on this night I could not have been more calm. Seahawks fans are different from Mariners fans and Husky football fans. Even for a preseason game, it was the rowdiest experience I had been a part of to that point in my life, and I loved every single second of it. The two biggest memories I have of the game are Chad Brown and Cortez Kennedy dominating the Cardinals for the first part of the game, and the constant chants the entire stadium participated in when the Seahawks gained a first down.

After the game was very emotional for me. The Mariners had already moved into Safeco Field and knowing that it was unlikely I would attend another Seahawks game during the 1999 season, I came to the realization that this was probably going to be the last time I ever stepped foot into the Kingdome. After the game, Me, my dad, and my two cousins went up to the top of the upper deck and touched the bottom most part of the Kingdome roof.

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely love CenturyLink Field. It is the most beautiful building in the National Football League. However, there are times when I do have nostalgic moments with my friends and the Kingdome always come up in our discussions. It is yet another part of my childhood that has disappeared and sometimes I wish I could go to one more sporting event in the Kingdome. I am astonished to see younger kids at Seahawks games and think “they never had the chance to go see a game in the Kingdome, that is too bad.”

I cannot believe it has been 12 years since the implosion. I loved that building no matter how ugly, cramped, and dark it may have been. My memories in the Kingdome are something that will never crumble, just as the building did 12 years ago today.

Leave a Reply

